Iceland: The Blue Lagoon

The Blue Lagoon at sunrise

The Blue Lagoon at sunrise

Bathing in hot waters whilst watching the sun rise over volcanic rubble, this is why I love travel.

For our penultimate day in Iceland we had a whole day of experiences booked – again, with Iceland Excursions, who we did our Northern Lights tour with. I booked this holiday, and it’s tours, a while back in October, and since then I’ve been very busy with University, placements and work, so when I saw our trip was booked the day before we left (meaning we had two days of occupying ourselves with the Reykjavik city and becoming extremely familiar with it’s pavements) I was wondering what on earth I was thinking. But, as soon as our day of soaking in the geothermal waters of the blue lagoon, standing on the North American tectonic plates, and taking on Iceland’s harsh winds to watch a Geysir shooting into the sky and gasp at the wonder of the Gullfoss Waters, I realised why I left this tour to the last day – it was the perfect way to end – and remember – my boyfriend and I’s adventurous trip to Iceland.

Our day started early as we woke up 7.30, in order to squeeze in the hotel’s continental buffet breakfast – we may have bought sachets of Nutella from the shop up the road (bad traveler!) – before we made our way to the reception to sit and wait. Our bus appeared at 8.25 – and even though we nearly got on the wrong one (who was going to the Blue Lagoon as well) we did get on the correct coach! Although, we didn’t leave for another ten minutes as we waited for stragglers – I mean How?! How can people do that?! If I had a tour booked for 8.30 and I was still in my hotel room at 8.35 I’d be having a panic attack, but maybe that’s just my Type A personality.

As we got on our way we stopped off – as we did for our Northern Lights tour – at the Iceland Excursions office whilst we filled (and over filled) the coach to it’s full capacity – many people with a few suitcases as a lot of people stop off at the Blue Lagoon before a flight as it’s location is on the way to the airport.

We got to the lagoon at about 10am and walked through a path surrounded by looming volcanic rubble, both of us not looking forward to stepping out into the cold weather in our swimsuits – saying that, we could have paid £50 (rather than the £35 we did pay) for a robe and some slippers but we’re cheap so we decided to just leg it to the hot lagoon instead. Upon arriving we paid our entrance fee and was given an electronic wristband as we went to spa – which owns the natural lagoon – changing rooms and they were fancy! Being a budget traveller, I don’t often find myself in a place of luxury, so this was a whole new experience! Although brits, it’s a european changing room so you’ll either have to wait for the one (to every changing room) cubicle, or get in the buff with your fellow spa-ers. I met my boyfriend by the outside lobby who was wearing his coat – which I mocked him for, but then realised, as I stepped out – that maybe he had the right idea. I stood by the pool in the chilly breeze (the sun hadn’t even come up!) waiting for my boyfriend to take a photo – what I do for blogging, eh? – and longed to get into the bath like waters, watching the steam rise into the air joined by the unpleasant – but expected – scent of sulphur.

The water was – as mentioned above – like getting into a hot bath, with different areas warmer than others, some even a bit too warm! There was an incredible geysir (which we think was fake as there were pipes sticking out of it) which pumped flumes of steam out, which smelled of – you guessed it, that wonderous natural scent of rotten eggs – sulphur! We swam over to these boxes filled with the geothermal’s natural beauty mud mask, and with some awkwardness (a ladle in a wooden box with slits) we manage to get a handle out and smear it on our faces. The mud felt and smelt lovely – I was in desperate need of a facial refresh – but it did make our face freeze more than before, so we made our way over to the hotter water, where we made our selves comfy and watched the sun rise over the miles of volcanic rubble. Unfortunately, we only got to enjoy the pool (and sauna and steam bath) for about 45 minutes as we had to get on the coach for 12pm to stick to the schedule of the second tour, The Golden Circle. If I did the Blue Lagoon again I would probably do it on a separate day with more funds so I could enjoy the spa element a bit more, and relax in the pool rather than worrying about missing our next coach, but overall, the Blue Lagoon is a must do for any traveler heading to Iceland – I got the idea to go from this Travel Hack blog post.

My post telling you all about the Golden Circle will be up next week and don’t forget to follow me on Blog Lovin’

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

