Strange Tourist Attractions

13.08.13-hw-cc-cornpalace

Another article that I wrote for Gapyear.com on my placement. After my partner returned from his 7 week trek across America, he filled me in with one of the biggest highlights of his experience. Nope, it wasn’t Mount Rushmore, or Yosemite, or a helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon. It was the Corn Palace in South Dakota! Following this revelation, and my gawking disbelief that this place actually existed as I flicked through the leaflet that he had hoarded, I decided to do a bit of research on what other weird – yet wonderful – tacky tourist attractions are alive and kicking.

Will you be visiting any of these hot spots on your travels? I definitely think the toilet museum is on the cards for me!

Temples, churches and statues just don’t cut it for some people

Tourism is one of the biggest money making industries in the world – but sometimes getting the tourists in can call for some desperate measures. You know when you sometimes wake up in the middle of the night with a brilliant idea and then come morning you realise that maybe it’s not so great? Here are the people that actually followed through with them… 

Click HERE for the rest!

 Quick note – You may have noticed that the website name has changed! I will admit, alliterations are so 2000 but hey, it works. It is now harder to find on google in the midst on 100 hundred million other ‘helen holidays’ but I’m hoping to get my SEO up to improve that! So I haven’t deleted my site, it’s just been renamed! 

Leave a Reply

