My summer of Placements

9057485840_1f801fbe29_o

I am not worthy of a blog!

But, I have a good excuse! I’ve been super busy filling my CV up to the brim with placement, placement, placements.

MKFM

This was my first ever placement – and it was the funnest time I’ve ever had! MKFM is my local radio station, if you hadn’t guessed, and I had two great weeks oh finding news stories and reading bulletins on the hour every hour from 10am-6pm.

 

Gapyear.com

Now, as much as I loved my time at MKFM, it’s doesn’t take a detective to know that travel writing is where my heart is. I was delighted when Victoria Philpott from the site contacted me asking if I wanted an internship at one of my favourite online travel hubs, Gapyear.com. So, for the past two weeks I have become a london commuter – 1 hour 45 minutes each way 5 days a week, but it’s totally worth it. This placement so far has reassured me that travelling and travel writing is what I want to do!

I haven’t been shipped off anywhere exotic – yet. But, I’ve had great fun researching so many different countries and discovering great blogs. By the way – Argentina is now my number 1 place to travel, and so far that has been my favourite country to research, it has such vast landscapes and the Buenos Aires nightlife is just incredible! They have after-hours night clubs! So when the night clubs close, more open! It’s crazy!

Image

At the moment there isn’t much travelling on the cards for me – cue sad violin – especially as my placement is taken up all my work time, not that I’d trade it if given the option.

However! I am planning a Eurotrip next summer so I’ll keep you all updated on how that’s going and some of my highlights from my placement here at Gapyear.com

They are offering internships at the moment, so if you fancy contributing to the Gapyear.com website by all means apply. The team aren’t too bad either 😉 but we like our lunches out – you’ve been warned!

Leave a Reply

